About the ECSC

Led by Music Director Dr. Daniel McDavitt, the ECSC is the only symphony chorus in Connecticut, and an integral part of ECSO’s mission to inspire, educate, and connect our communities. The 80 person auditioned group connects people in a unique and powerful way ranging from high school to octogenarians. When communities seek unity, whether in celebration or mourning, they always seem to turn to singing to draw people to one another.

ECSC is that this connection happens every week. We sing some of the most monumental and inspiring music ever written, from requiems, masses, symphonies, and beyond. But the most impactful part is how the music unites us an an ensemble, and then unites us with Toshi and the symphony musicians, and then finally, with the audience. 

This season we will kick off the year exploring some of the greatest music written by American composers, ranging from established to emerging masterpieces. Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms and Barber’s Agnus Dei are iconic works, and Copland’s Zion’s Walls and Thompson’s Choose Something Like a Star are foundational in the American choral repertoire. But it’s the small masterpieces of the last 30 years that I think might surprise the singers and audience members. Paulus’s The Road Home is a real gem, Lauridsen’s Sure on This Shining Night is utterly sublime, and Whitacre’s Five Hebrew Love Songs are charming and heartfelt and so rewarding to sing! It will be a thrilling start to our season before we launch into the rest of the year focusing on the towering masterworks of Handel, Mozart, and Haydn.

How to Join

Love to sing? Contact us using the button below to learn more about how to become a member, rehearsal schedule, events, and volunteer opportunities. We would love to hear you!

Upcoming performance opportunity includes singing with the ECSO on the Garde Stage in our next season. If you wish to learn more about the chorus or want to donate, please contact ECSC President Kathy Walburn at [email protected]


ECSC Board of Directors

Kathy Walburn

Amy Holmberg
Vice President/Secretary

Jane Falivene

Ben Hayes
Bob Keltner
Jana Noyes
David Rinzler

Receive updates from the ECSC

spotify link facebook link youtube link instagram link twitter link