ECSO in rehearsal - Ferde Grofé's Grand Canyon Suite
3 Jul 2018
Check out this clip of the ECSO rehearsing for the upcoming American Rhapsody concert on Saturday, November 18! Tickets may be purchased by calling 860-443-2876 or by visiting Peggy Stuart Coolidge’s "Pioneer Dances" opens this November concert with an energetic dose of Americana. Iconic composer Aaron Copland’s work "Our Town" continues the theme with its wistful melodies adapted from the film score of the same name. The next work, composed by George Gershwin, is "Rhapsody in Blue," one of the most exciting and well-known pieces. Pianist Lindsay Garritson makes her ECSO debut playing this crowd favorite. Orchestrated by Ferde Grofé, this piece expanded both the jazz and classical lexicon through the imaginative use of jazz rhythms, blues scales, and inventive orchestration. Closing out the concert is Ferde Grofé’s own "Grand Canyon Suite," which sonically depicts this American landmark in five movements. This concert is very generously sponsored by ASA Environmental

Contact Us:

Eastern Connecticut 
Symphony Orchestra
289 State Street
New London, CT 06320

Phone: 860-443-2876

Support the ECSO

Newsletter Sign-up

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Eastern Connecticut Symphony Orchestra to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.

Additional Support

The ECSO operates with additional support from the Department of Economic and Community Development, Connecticut Office of the Arts which also receives support from the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency.