ECSO in rehearsal - Beethoven Symphony No. 3
3 Jul 2018
The ECSO kicks off the 2017-18 season with a concert full of revolutionary sounds. Richard Wagner’s "Tannhäuser Overture" is representative of the composer’s visionary impact upon opera with his “total work of art” philosophy. Following, acclaimed pianist and Steinway Artist Mark Markham takes to the stage to perform Sergei Prokofiev’s "Piano Concerto No. 3." This concerto is considered a revolution in and of itself as the soloist and orchestra both play important roles in its performance. After the first half, the concert concludes with Ludwig van Beethoven’s "Symphony No. 3." Beethoven subtitled this work Eroica (heroic), and it was originally dedicated to Napoleon Bonaparte. Musically, this symphony stretched the parameters of the Classical era, to make way for the Romantic period. For tickets call 860.443.2876 or call the Garde Arts Center at 860-444-7373. Visit for more information and follow us on Facebook at The ECSO offers a

Contact Us:

Eastern Connecticut 
Symphony Orchestra
289 State Street
New London, CT 06320

Phone: 860-443-2876

Support the ECSO

Newsletter Sign-up

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Eastern Connecticut Symphony Orchestra to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.

Additional Support

The ECSO operates with additional support from the Department of Economic and Community Development, Connecticut Office of the Arts which also receives support from the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency.